The Lego Movie

Image

A couple of weeks ago I saw The Lego Movie and I have to say IT. WAS. AWESOME. I hate myself for not reviewing it earlier since by now the movie isn’t so fresh in my mind, but I will try my best.

You may be wondering, “Jocelyne, isn’t The Lego Movie a kids movie?” To that I answer, WRONG. THE LEGO MOVIE IS NOT A KIDS MOVIE! Sure it may have a few kid-like elements, but trust me on this one: this movie is so much more than that. Not only does it have AMAZING animation, but it has a great story line and some jokes adults will appreciate. I know for a fact that besides my boyfriend, some random man in the room, and I, we were the only ones laughing at certain jokes because we got them. The Lego Movie also teaches valuable lessons that things are not always perfect and that’s okay, and also that everyone has a purpose. That was the main point of the movie, in my opinion: everyone has a purpose.

Image

Chris Pratt did a hilariously amazing job playing Emmet, the ordinary construction worker turned supposed hero of the universe (I say supposed for a certain reason, a reason I cannot say until you watch the film). Emmett was such a loveable character and I can definitely say I was rooting for him all the time. It was also really cool hearing all the voice actors in the movie, like Will Ferrell, Morgan Freeman, Alison Brie, and many other talented people.

Overall, I think that everyone should watch this film because it was so cool and the animation was unlike anything we’ve seen before. The animation looks like it is stop-motion but it really isn’t, which is so cool! And come on, we all played with Legos as children (and sometimes now as we’re older, too). We have been waiting for a movie about legos for-EVER. I know we’re barely in March but honestly, The Lego Movie is the best movie I have seen so far. Watch it and leave the theatre feeling all happy and warm and totally cool. Oh, and the theme song will be stuck in your head for WEEKS. I love it.

Leave a comment